What’s Going On

So, what am I actually up to besides musing about the metaphysical nature of home, traveling, and ironing? While Logan serves the metropolis by cleaning the gutters of those too old or too rich to do it themselves, I’m learning to be a homemaker–and greatly enjoying it, I might add. I’m hoping to start teaching piano soon, but not a lot of people are beginning lessons at this time of the year. Also, it’s been a bit of a journey getting my old (but free–thanks Chuck! Best wedding present!!) piano in playable condition. As of now, it’s mostly tuned, but the majority of the black keys stick . . . making anything not in the key of C major rather difficult to play. (I tried playing one of my recital songs the other day, but it was in 3 or 4 flats and by the time I was a few measures in, I had stuck every key I needed for the melody. . . I gave up.) BUT Mr. Piano Tuner is coming back next week to finish fixing it, which makes my heart happy.

So, what I am doing these days?

Sewing

Still working on curtains–yes, I know. They’re not even hard. I’ve finished some, but others I’m sort of piecing together to get them the length I want them to be. Measuring long straight lines is NOT my forte, so I’m taking it slow.

Baking

Snickerdoodles are in the oven right now! Some will go to Logan’s boss & his family, who are having us over for pizza tonight (yay pizza!), but we’ll still have several dozen more than we need . . . someone come help us eat them please.

Update: since the time of writing, many snickerdoodles were given away & eaten, and what remains will accompany us to his parents’ house tonight, where they will (hopefully) be finished. Your help is no longer needed . . . but I’ll happily make you a new batch when you drop by. 🙂

Reading

As quoted in my last post, I’ve been enjoying Cheryl Mendeson’s Home Comforts, a birthday gift from my parents. 🙂 I’ve also been listening to some Agatha Christie on audiobook whilst sewing or cooking . . . it helps the house feel less empty. Any other suggestions? I’m very open to discovering new authors.

On my future reading list is Five Magic Spindleswhich is slated to be published this summer sometime. The winners were just announced this week–in my opinion, this collection will be the most varied yet!

Listening to

Would that sound better “hearing”? I hate the preposition at the end . . .

Anyhow. Chris Rice’s Peace Like a River: the Hymns Project. It’s very peaceful and soothing . . . I imagine using it as lullabies for my future children. 😉 Speaking of future lullabies, his “Untitled Hymn (Come to Jesus)” is a song I will most definitely sing while I’m rocking my 11 future babies. (Just kidding about the 11 part! You know I’ll never quit till I beat the Duggars!!!)

You probably just took that seriously, too. It wasn’t meant that way. However, as I am in no way obliged to explain and/or justify my ideals for a future family, I’m going to let it go. 😉

Also, these days I get to listen to the melodious evening calls of the peacocks pretty often. A house down the road has a few, and lately they’ve been serenading us at sundown. It’s not a particularly beautiful sound–check it out for yourself if you don’t believe me–but, strangely, I like it. It makes me feel as if someone in the neighborhood has livestock, which means I’m not so far from my heritage after all.

Going

Yup, we’re off again–this weekend to Logan’s hometown, where we’ll mourn his brother’s old age celebrate his brother’s birthday and minister in his home church (through preaching & piano playing, respectively).

Scheming

I’m already planning the sewing projects I’ll start when these curtains are done: some baby clothes for my niece (expected in just over 2 months!!), finishing that quilt I began *ahem* years ago, wedding presents for all the friends getting married this summer (it’s that time of life for us I guess). And I’m plotting a story in my head. . . though someone else already wrote a novel in the same historical setting I had thought was so unique, which was disappointing. Have any of you tackled historical fiction? Any research tips?

I’m also trying to figure out how to accidentally bump into Anne Elisabeth Stengl, as I may or may not live very near her now. I know which grocery store chain she frequents . . . but as there is one on every corner, I’m not getting my hopes up. 😉

Okay, your turn. What have you been making/doing/reading/listening to/plotting? Go.

 

 

What thinkest thou?

