College is Strange

Betsy Unfiltered

Dear World-at-Large;

Hi there.

Bet you had forgotten me, hadn’t you?

That’s perfectly alright. You probably had fewer bad dreams that way.

Anyhow.

This will be a super ramble-y post because I don’t feel like organizing my thoughts and I haven’t written for a month and a half and I just felt like checking in so y’all weren’t worrying that I was dead. You know that this is actually me and not some creeper posing as me so that you don’t get suspicious because no other self-respecting person would ramble like this. Why were you suspecting I was dead, anyhow? That’s super weird. Don’t you have any better problems to solve? Like ending world hunger or stopping Ebola or mailing me a space heater or practicing your special music for missions conference or doing a Sudoku…Suduko?….puzzle or something?

Actually, the practicing special music for missions conference is what I should be doing, but I’m not. It’s 10:30 at night and snowing and I just don’t feel like practicing. I will tomorrow. Maybe. Unless I get distracted by talking to my fabulous ex-RA or certain other friends.

Also, I should be doing my laundry. I started it this morning and then left and just got back, so I should probably finish. But that’s two entire floors below me and I’m pretty comfortable at the moment.

Know what I hate? When Pandora gets funky and just stops and skips an entire half a song. Pandora! I was just getting my little grove on! Why would you do that to me?

What am I listening to, you ask? Ummmm…my Josh Groban Christmas station. Shh. Don’t start judging. I can explain. You see, I never used to listen to Christmas music before Thanksgiving was over. But last year my delightful roomie–who’s been married for exactically two weeks now!!–got me started early. And I liked it. Christmas music makes me feel like it’s holiday season instead of get ready for sophomore platform and music theory finals and Christmas concert season.  And it is get ready for Christmas concert season, so we’ve already been singing Christmas songs and playing Christmas songs on the piano and playing Christmas songs on the violin and playing Christmas songs on the handbells and discussing Christmas wing decoration ideas and discussing Christmas vacation travel plans. As long as I’m in Christmas mode already, why not just break out the Josh Groban holiday album? Is that so wrong? It’s not like I’m already listening to family tradition songs, like the fife version of “Patapan” or Twila Paris’s Christmas tape or Michael Card’s The Promise. So it isn’t that wrong.

So what have I been up to otherwise? I don’t even know. Lots of stuff. Not very much. I have 14 credits of music classes this semester, which alternates between a lot of fun and a major headache. So. Many. Practice. Hours. On the bright side, I’m learning to conduct and modulate and become a better accompanist, which is just great. I’m still working in the library and doing Jubilate and accompanying at my church every Sunday and teaching the Wednesday night Tiny Trackers class and trying to figure out this RA thing and keeping my poor little fish mostly alive and making chocolate chip cookies and procrastinating on laundry. Speaking of which….blah.

Ok, I really do need to go switch loads. Yes, I have loads plural. It sort of piled up.

Last night I dreamed Ruth did my laundry for me. So I was sad when I woke up. But I also dreamed I grew a goatee, so I was very happy when I woke up. Actually, waking up was very happy because it meant I got to party basically all day: first, roadtripping to Charleston with one of my favorite fellows, then picking up my favorite RAs from the airport and going to Starbucks for chai, then going to the dean’s house for an early Thanksgiving dinner, then going to my favorite admissions girl’s house for a girl party.

It was a good day.

But seriously. Laundry is calling.

I should probably never write a post like this again.

But I probably will.

4 thoughts on “Betsy Unfiltered”

  1. I love random.

    You listen to your Josh Groban Christmas music! Ignore the world’s criticism! Enjoy Christmas for all its worth! Snow! Cookies! Josh Groban! Trees! Lights! Red sweaters!! Cookies. (I just love cookies)

    RA made me think of TRex. Don’t ask why. But I have this delightful idea you have an ex TRex and it made you cooler. Who needs a goatee?

What thinkest thou?

