A Very Exciting Announcement…

Hum. Maybe I should change that title. “Exciting announcement” conjures up images of either diamond rings or baby booties, neither of which I’m possessing as of today. However, I do know about something pretty stinkin’ fantastic… Five Enchanted Roses!

ImageHere’s the official press release…

Rooglewood Press is delighted to introduce their second fairy tale novella contest–

Five Enchanted Roses
a collection of “Beauty and the Beast” stories

The challenge is to write a retelling of the beloved fairy tale in any genre or setting you like. Make certain your story is recognizably “Beauty and the Beast,” but have fun with it as well. Make it yours!

Rooglewood Press will be selecting five winners to be published in the Five Enchanted Roses collection, which will be packaged up with the gorgeous cover you see displayed here. Perhaps your name will be one of the five displayed on this cover?

All the contest rules and information (how to enter, story details, deadline, etc.) may be found on the Rooglewood Press website. Just click here and you will go right to the page.

Rooglewood Press’s first collection, Five Glass Slippers, is available for pre-order now and will be released June 14. Do grab yourself a copy and see what these talented writers have done with the timeless “Cinderella” tale!

Of course I’m thrilled about this because just exactly a year ago, I was reading a similar announcement about Five Glass Slippers and dreamily imagining entering . . . and now, I’m anxiously awaiting being published! So yeah, you’re nervous, and you’re thinking that you shouldn’t bother, but you totally should. Confession: I thought my story was so cliche that I didn’t even want to send it in. Have fun, write your little heart out, and let me be the first to proofread, k?

(Also, if you liked the cover image, hop on over to Julia Popova’s website and take a look at her other work! It’s rather fabulous.)

Also, if you know how to do those little sidebar button things, shoot me an email, because for the life of me I have no clue. See this cute little button? ImageIt’s supposed to be over there. ———> Explain it to me if you can, or post it yourself. Warning: explaining it to me will probably be as successful as trying to get me to understand literally any movie with battle scenes. Yeah. I’m that bad. Don’t judge, just love.

Also, don’t ask my younger siblings for plot ideas. You’ll end up sitting round the campfire like this. . .

Jacob: and THEN the gangster guy…
Ben: Wait. You’re STILL on this story?
Ruth: So, basically, this is no different than the traditional “Beauty and the Beast,” except that it’s in New York and there’s a gangster.
Jacob: Yeah, basically. Can I continue?
Everyone: No. We got it.
Jacob: But I was just getting to the best part!
Lilly: Oooh oooh oooh guys, I got an idea!
Everyone (warily): Yeeeeees?
Lilly: Well, I don’t have all of it yet…just a minute. Well, anyhow, blah blah blah, blah blah blah, she falls out a building.
Everyone: ???
Lilly: Get it?
Everyone: No. Let’s just get back to s’mores.

One thought on “A Very Exciting Announcement…

What thinkest thou?

