Celebrations

Thankful for Thanksgiving Break … or the End of It

Pros

  • Being with my favorite people in the world, namely my parents and 2/3 of my siblings.
  • Spending Sunday with my church family at EBC. (On this note, potluck!)
  • Playing games with my family: I wasn’t the Clue Serial Killer this time. Thank goodness.
  • Baking pie and cookies with my baby sister!! Finally, I made something I would be proud to have other people eat. The shameful muffins are but a distant memory.
  • On that note, also eating pie and cookies. Especially cookies. I like cookies.
  • Butchering three deer because I’m a warrior. Ok, ok. I didn’t exactly butcher all three single-handedly. In fact, it took me like half an hour to stop making little whimpery noises every time I touched the…the…gross dead meat carcass thing, which coincidentally was constantly. But still. I helped. Right?
  • Singing with Mom and Ruth. Sometimes off key on purpose, sometimes off key by accident. It really doesn’t matter.
  • Introducing the little siblings to this song.
  • Having internet after midnight.
  • Sleeping for as long as I wanted every morning.
  • Acquiring a hula hoop. Thanks Grandma!
  • Eating my mom’s food. It’s the best.
  • Getting all caught up on Once. Ohmyword. If someone tried to make an accurate family tree, it would be the most crooked tree in the world.
  • Introducing my family to Elf Yourself. My little brothers make good elves.
  • Watching all the Coffee House videos with the little siblings.
  • Talking for hours with Mom and Ruth. About everything.

I definitely just want to stay here and never go back to school like ever.

Cons

  • SPIDERMONKEYS. Err, cave crickets. Whatever their technical name is. IN MY ROOM AND MY BATHROOM AND MY HOUSE AND MY STATE.  THESE CREATURES. EWW. 99% SURE EISIN DAIMONIA.

ImageImageImage

Off to have nightmares.

I can’t wait to go back to school.

9 thoughts on “Thankful for Thanksgiving Break … or the End of It”

  1. YOU HORRIBLE PERSON. I WAS REALLY ENJOYING YOUR LOVELY BLOG POST ABOUT COOKIES AND HULA HOOPS AND DISNEY SONGS AND SUCH AND SO FORTH. AND THEN YOU STARTED YOUR CON LIST. I THINK YOU INCLUDED THOSE TERRIFYING PICTURES *JUST* TO MAKE ME CRY SO I WOULD NEVER ENTER YOUR ABODE EVER AGAIN. WELL, I’M CERTAINLY NOT SCROLLING BACK UP THERE. I HAD TO CLOSE MY EYES. SERIOUSLY, NOT A TWINSIE APPROVED POST. T.T

  2. Just accidentally stumbled on this post and now my heart is slowly calming down after those pictures. There should be a warning!!

    I had one of those in my dorm room once. It was 2am and no one was awake and that thing was too freaky! I scrambled to find something to trap it and it ended up under an inverted pot until morning when I could get someone braver than I to dispose of it. An inverted pot that I chucked across the room from the safety of my bed, missing more than once and having to hastily retrieve and try again. (It’s amazing the whole house slept through that!)

    1. My normal tactic is to throw shoes…but I’m too timid to retrieve them if I miss. So eventually I just end up with a nasty cricket surrounded by shoes. pretty sure the crickets gloat when they see me because I’ve failed to dispose of them SO many times.

What thinkest thou?

