Mark Your Calenders

September is time to celebrate. Join me.
join me

ALL September

  • Fall Hat Month
  • HAPPY CAT MONTH! You know what the happiest cats are? Purple dancing sparkly ones. (Speaking of which, bonus points to Jon and Janelle for sending me this picture. I’m going to print it and hang it on my bulletin board.)
    purple sparkly dancing cat
  • Library Card Sign-up Month! Or, if you just want to stop by the library this afternoon and have me laminate your student ID for you, I can do that, because I totally know how to run BOTH laminators now. New mission: LAMINATE THE WORLD!
  • National Piano Month! I can do that. And Stacey has Hymns Modern and Ancient!
  • National Rice Month. Wait. I thought was July. No, that’s just when I ate rice for an entire month. When I wasn’t snacking on chicken feet, of course.

Next week (8-15)

  • International Housekeepers Week. Go Mom!!
  • 9-8: The roomie’s birthday! Olive Garden, anyone?
  • 9-8: International Literacy Day. Reading–especially reading God’s Word–is a great gift. Give thanks for it.
  • 9-9: Wonderful Weirdos Day. Not that I’ll celebrate that one.
  • 9-13: Blame Someone Else Day. It’s not MY fault if y’all don’t choose to celebrate this!

September 15-21

  • National Singles Week. Wait. We’ve been at Bible school for two whole weeks. How is anyone here still single?!
  • 9-16: Mother, Mother, Best AND Dearest OF Mother’s Birthday. Her first birthday in 20 years when I haven’t been with her to give her a candle or bubble bath or new hot pads or something like that. (That about sums up your presents, doesn’t it?)
  • 9-18: Hug a Greeting Card Writer Day. Just not if he/she is the opposite gender and you’re an ABC student.
  • Everyone’s favorite…. 9-19: Talk Like a Pirate Day. I AM GOING TO GET THE ENTIRE CAMPUS TO CELEBRATE THIS.
  • 9-21: World Alzheimer’s Day. (If you can remember it, that is.) Love you, Grandma.

September 22-28

  • Tolkien Week. Yup, they’re all in the ABC library. Dewey Decimal number: F T649.
  • 9-22: Everyone’s second favorite….Elephant Appreciation Day! Have you appreciated your elephant lately? Well? HAVE YOU?
  • Also on the 22nd, Hobbit Day! I think I can probably also talk some people here into celebrating that.
  • Puncuation: Day, Sept. 24? It’s… (always) “fun.”
  • 9-27: Ask a Stupid Question Day. Don’t ask why. That’s too intelligent. Just celebrate it.
  • 9-28: Fish Tank Floorshow Night. Yes! LET’S HAVE A FISH SHOW IN THE LOUNGE, OK?

Last, but certainly not least, National Coffee Day (Sept. 29).

Wait.

Isn’t that every day at college?

Have a happy September, y’all.

9 thoughts on “Mark Your Calenders

  1. Thanks for the list of wonderful holidays. I’m definitely going to have to celebrate them.
    International Literacy Day is hard not to celebrate…
    Wonderful Weirdos Day. I think the best way to celebrate is to call and talk to a certain wonderful weirdo in my life… 🙂
    Shiver me timbers! Pirate Day be this month? Argh matey, I’ll be celebrating that one for sure 🙂
    Tolkien week sounds great.
    I always think of you when Elephant Appreciation Day comes around. For it was you who taught me the importance of taking the time to appreciate the elephants in my life.

  2. Okay, simply verbalisin’, this made my day. Month. Fall. And your punctuation entry is beautiful in a way that makes me “cringe.” 😉 And goodness, there are still single people at a bridal college? Y’all are gonna fail your classes! Hurry up! Midterms are coming!

    • B…b…but… MY PICTURE HAD TO DRY FIRST. THAT’S NOT FAIR! T.T AS SOON AS I AM BACK HOME, IT WILL GET SENT IN THE MAIL!

      September 9th is the day… The day for which we’ve been waiting… The day we take over… SOON.

      I highly appreciate this list of days.

      Talk Like a Pirate Day and Literacy Day in the same month… does not make sense.

      Punctuation Day!? interrobangs for EVERYONE!! Date?: Sept. 24th, 2013. It’s sure to be a blast–for writers, at least; other people may get judgy… Judgey? Judge-y.
      .
      Tolkien gets a whole week. Makes sense. Gives Betsy time to reread the Trilogy and learn the Sindarin dialect.

What thinkest thou?

